Why I Walk: Tyler

“I’m Tyler Frump and I’m going to tell my story about how Alzheimer’s has affected me. When I joined Sigma Kappa, a sorority on my college campus, I didn’t really join because of the philanthropies like other girls did. Although I’ve supported the service Sigma Kappa has done during the three years I’ve been a part of it, it wasn’t until recently that I realized  just how important one in

unnamed

Tyler and her sorority sisters at the 2015 Quincy Walk to Eparticular would become in my life

 

particular would become in my life.

Have you ever got that feeling when your stomach drops to the floor and you just want to scream inside and cry until you can’t cry anymore? That was how I felt when two years ago my great aunt started to have the same conversations with me twice or even three times. I thought maybe she just forgot.

When my mother called me after classes a little under a year ago to tell me that my great aunt had fallen and had been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s at the hospital, I was devastated. She was told that she had 6 weeks to 6 months left to live. During the past year, I’ve had two relatives and my best friend pass away and I wasn’t able to say goodbye. I wasn’t going to let that happen again.

When I went home for my family reunion, I realized that two other relatives had the onsets of Alzheimer’s, too. After composing myself, I drove to the nursing home to say my goodbye hoping that she would remember me. I sat down and started talking. It was about halfway through my sentence that I realized the look in her eyes. She didn’t remember me. She wouldn’t remember the first time I ran screaming through her house eating all of her chocolate, she wouldn’t remember the times she taught me how to be a lady and how to sew, she wouldn’t remember my goodbye. I just want her to be able to remember.

Although she has been blessed with more than the 6 months they gave her to live, her Alzheimer’s isn’t going away and she still doesn’t remember me. Sigma Kappa sisters around the country have been and are coming together to raise money for the study of Alzheimer’s.

13620718_10153574267356583_9141416372257458891_n.jpg

Sigma Kappa sisters creating a human Alzheimer’s Association logo 

I need your support to do my part! Please make a donation to help the Alzheimer’s Association advance research into methods of treatment, prevention and, ultimately, a cure for Alzheimer’s.  For the millions already affected by the disease, the Association offers care, education, support and resources in communities nationwide. The end of Alzheimer’s disease starts with you and I hope someday that all these donations will help me and my family never forget.”

Tyler is participating in the Quincy Walk to End Alzheimer’s as a Sigma Kappa: Beta Mu Chapter team member. She hopes to raise $1,500.

Want to join Tyler in her fight against Alzheimer’s and other dementias? Register for your local Walk to End Alzheimer’s today!

Want to share your “Why I Walk” story? Email lgunty@alz.org for more information 

 

 

Leave a Reply

